Wednesday, December 3, 2008

Kirkland top coach as Sawtooth picks its best

All-League eight-man football

Eighth-year Carey School football coach Lane Kirkland was named "Coach of the Year" when the Sawtooth Conference eight-man football league chose its All-League teams Nov. 24.

Kirkland (65-16) led the Panthers to its second State 1A Division 2 championship in three years and a 12-0 record. Carey defeated Kootenai 46-12 Nov. 21 at the Kibbie Dome in Moscow and improved its three-year record to a glittering 33-3.

Among first-team players from Carey were leading scorer and tackler Heith Adamson, Andrew Carlson, Todd Peck, Gonzalo Zarate, Dillon Simpson and Trevor Peck. Players from Richfield, Mackay, Dietrich and North Gem also dominated the picks. Here are selections:


Quarterback—First team: Tel Clark (Richfield sr).

Second team: Kole Krosch (Mackay jr). Honorable mention: Austin Wuttke (North Gem jr).

Center—First team: Andrew Carlson (Carey sr).

Second team: Cody Morgan (Mackay jr).

Offensive guard—First team: D.J. Anderson (Richfield sr) and Todd Peck (Carey jr).

Second team: Tyler Chavez (Carey jr) and Shawn Banks (North Gem sr). Honorable mention: Luke Hubert (Dietrich sr).

End—First team: Justin White (North Gem jr) and Scott Smyer (Mackay sr).

Second team: Manny Pacheco (Murtaugh jr) and Zach Donnot (Mackay jr). Honorable mention: Brody Norman (Richfield sr) and Scott Perron (Dietrich sr).

Running back—First team: Jaren Stoddard (Dietrich sr), Michael Lezamiz (Richfield jr) and Heith Adamson (Carey sr).

Second team: Shayne Kraczek (Mackay sr), Luke Wood (Richfield sr) and Gonzalo Zarate (Carey jr).

Punter—First team: Mitchel Hall (North Gem sr).

Second team: Manny Pacheco (Murtaugh jr). Honorable mention: Tel Clark (Richfield sr).


Defensive line—First team: Todd Peck (Carey jr) and Shawn Banks (North Gem sr).

Second team: Tyler Chavez (Carey jr) and Teddy Beverly (Mackay sr). Honorable mention: Tyler Cenarrusa (Richfield soph) and Jordan Warner (Mackay sr).

Defensive end—First team: Gonzalo Zarate (Carey jr) and Tel Clark (Richfield sr).

Second team: G.W. Bailey (Dietrich sr) and Colton Hubert (Dietrich jr).

Safety—First team: Scott Smyer (Mackay sr) and Dillon Simpson (Carey jr).

Second team: Jake Wise (Camas County jr) and Michael Lezamiz (Richfield jr). Honorable mention: Shayne Kraczek (Mackay sr).

Linebacker—First team: Luke Wood (Richfield sr), Jake Spillett (Rockland sr) and Heith Adamson (Carey sr).

Second team: Kole Krosch (Mackay jr), Luke Hubert (Dietrich sr) and Trevor Peck (Carey jr). Honorable mention: T. Colton Davids (North Gem jr).

Kicker—First team: Jose Rivas (Richfield jr).

Second team: Gonzalo Zarate (Carey jr).

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.