Wednesday, August 6, 2008

Harrison scoots away from White Knob field

Mountain bike winner in Mackay

Fairfield’s David Harrison basking in his first solo triumph of the summer mountain bike racing season, at Saturday’s awards barbecue in Mackay.

Fairfield's 44-year-old mountain pro David Harrison (DollarHide/Reddrox) beat the challenging terrain and won Saturday's 24th annual White Knob Challenge that started at high noon in Mackay.

Harrison's time of 1 hour, 16 minutes and 6 seconds was close to the record and nearly three minutes ahead of runner-up Pro Male finisher Ryon Butterfield (1.18:37). Harrison's teammate Matt Luhn of Ketchum (1.20:09) was third.

Pro Female winner was Sarah Barber of Boise (1.29:58).

Lost River Cycling presented the Intermountain Orthopaedics White Knob Challenge cross-country mountain bike races. They are the longest-running mountain bike race in the Northwest.

The course rose over 2,300 vertical feet and 10 miles, to the trailings and shafts of the White Knob, and descended technically through boulder fields and across streams. The downhill has always produced spills and punctured tires.

Harrison, a 23-year racer who founded the Sawtooth Mountain Bike Academy in 1994, said his teammate Luhn made a strong lead-out that launched Harrison past the mines and onto the descent and from there onto victory.

Readers should check today's Express Web site for final cross-country results of the July 26 Galena Grinder.

Here are results by class in the Knobby Tire Series event that attracted 72 racers to Mackay last Saturday at noon:

Pro classes

Pro Male: 1—David Harrison of Fairfield (DollarHide) 1.16:06. 2—Ryon Butterfield (Peak Sports) 1.18:37. 3—Matt Luhn (WOL) 1.20:09.

Semi-Pro Male: 1—William Martin (Muleterro) 1.20:36.

Pro Female: 1—Sarah Barber of Boise (Trek/VW) 1.29:58. 2—India Wysong 1.38:16.

Expert classes

Expert Singlespeed Men: 1—Brian Fuller (TVCC/Reel Theater) 1.29:18. 2—Wayne Hofeldt (Twin 6) 1.42:04. 3—Scott Potter (Broken Spoke Cycling) 1.46:00.

Expert 50-59 Male: 1—David Bell 1.41:30.

Expert 40-49 Male: 1—Charles Keene (Team Dobbiaco) 1.33:35. 2—Dan Pacman 1.50:50. 3—Michael McDonald (Lost River Cycling) 2.20:00.

Expert 30-39 Male: 1—Alex Phipps (Broken Spoke Cycling) 1.25:09. 2—Jeremy Bergquist (Custom Cycle) 1.27:58. 3—Kenneth Jones (Lost River Cycling). 4—Ben Stein (Intermountain Orthopaedics) 1.37:51.

Sport classes

Sport Singlespeed Men: 1—Chad Watson (Broken Spoke Cycling) 1.32:24. 2—Chris Howell 1.39:42. 3—Scott Dewall 1.42:03.

Sport 50-59 Male: 1—Russell Thorstrom (ICO) 1.27:46. 2—Bob Lynch 1.40:56. 3—Don Tator (LRC) 2.29:25. 4—Jeffrey Coward (Idaho Cycling Enthusiasts) 3.35:20. Also: Bob Hoffman (IO/LRC).

Sport 40-49 Male: 1—David Williams (Custom Cycle) 1.34:30. 2—Bruce Rogers (Design Metro) 1.34:44. 3—Jim Santa 1.37:18. 4—Lance Taysom 1.45:10. 5—Pete Wier 1.49:22. 6—Eric Lafferty (Intermountain Orthopaedics) 2.40:00.

Sport 40-plus Female: 1—S.J. Sloan 2.54:00.

Sport 30-39 Male: 1—Paul Pazdan 1.29:12. 2—Ross McAllister 1.32:33. 3—Troy Clark 1.32:48. 4—Hal Miller (Broken Spoke Cycling) 1.33:57. 5—Matthew Beeter (Atlas Cycling) 1.38:20. 6—Vic Kadyan 1.40:47. 7—Daniel Wendt 1.46:58.

Sport 30-39 Female: 1—Cami Taysom (Portneuf Life Flight) 2.06:35. Also: Bridget Lyons (Peaked Sports).

Sport 19-29 Male: 1—Eric Chizum 1.30:31. 2—Joshua Krattiger 1.34:04. 3—Josh Bean 1.34:44. 4—Dave Moore 1.46:40. 5—Kelly Noack 1.46:49. 6—Brenton Williamson 2.19:55.

Sport 19-29 Female: 1—Lauren Dorsch (Tamarack) 1.50:32.

Junior Sport 15-16 Male: 1—Rory Lynch 1.41:43. 2—Jacob Weber 1.59:04. 3—Koby Keene 2.10:28. 4—Justin Taysom (Portneuf Life Flight) 2.30:42.

Junior 14-and-under Male: 1—Jordan Jarvis 2.49:52. 2—Mathieu Sorrell (DollarHide) 2.54:07. 3—Hunter Ewing 2.55:00. 4—Zachary Weber 3.28:00.

Clydesdale (210 pounds) Male: 1—Henry Harper (Intermountain Orthopaedics) 1.33:54. 2—Charles Mills (Bill's Bike) 1.43:44.

Beginner classes

Beginner 50-59 Male: 1—Paul Chase 2.28:46. 2—Bill Dorsch 2.28:30.

Beginner 40-49 Male: 1—Stacy Seyb (Lost River Cycling) 2.56:00. 2—Michael Jarvis 2.22:32.

Beginner 30-39 Male: 1—Tom Charters (Get Hammered) 1.49:39.

Beginner 19-29 Male: 1—Zach Dorsch 1.57:00. 2—Dustin Nash 2.14:22.

Beginner 19-29 Female: 1—Kelly Morree 2.55:39.

Junior Beginner 17-18 Male: 1—Ross Hartley 2.10:00. 2—Joshua Jarvis 2.10:11.


1—Justin Clark. 2—Alec Miller (Broken Spoke Cycling). 3—Bryce Eggimann. 4—Tobin Weir. 5—Krystofer Sorrell.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2023 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.