Friday, May 30, 2008

Carey School gives scholarships, honors

Achievement on display for Panthers


Courtesy photo by Barbara Berg Posing Tuesday night in the Carey auditorium are Carey High School’s Citizenship Award winners for 2007-08. They are, from left, Scott Ellsworth, Jennifer Cenarrusa, Andrew Carlson, Ashley Harshbarger, Brad Peck, Sydney Brower, Blair Peck and Danie Hennefer. Joining them at the right is 15-year school administrative secretary Lynda Pyrah, who is retiring.

Carey School students received scholarships and academic honors Tuesday night during the school's annual Citizenship Awards program.

A highlight was the presentation of Citizenship Awards to male and female members of the four upper classes. Faculty members voted on the prestigious awards.

Citizenship Award winners in the senior class and winners of $100 grants derived from Student Body fund-raising events were Jennifer Cenarrusa and Scott Ellsworth.

Junior class winners were Ashley Harshbarger and Andrew Carlson. Sophomore honorees were Sydney Brower and Brad Peck. Top freshmen citizens at Carey were Danie Hennefer and Blair Peck.

Principal John Peck said his unofficial tally of scholarship money distributed during the one-hour and 20-minute awards program was over $55,000, an "absolutely amazing," sign of community generosity, he said. Scholarship winners were:

Four Hailey Rotary Club $1,000 scholarships were awarded to Bonnie Olsen, Scott Ellsworth, Kendra Olson and Josh Neilson.

Josh Neilson, Bonnie Olsen, Trent Parke, Tyler Parke and Kendra Olson received Idaho Mountain Express grants.

The Wood River Valley chapter of Dollars for Scholars announced six $1,000 scholarships at Carey. Winners were Katrina Molyneux, Josh Neilson, Kendra Olson, Bonnie Olsen, Scott Ellsworth and Rubenss Connor Rivera.

Two C & R Electric $1,000 scholarships went to Katie Patterson and Jennifer Cenarrusa. Earning the Sawtooth Board of Realtors scholarship was Bonnie Olsen.

Jennifer Cenarrusa and Bonnie Olsen accepted the Blaine County Farm Bureau grants. Receiving 4-H Leadership Council awards were Bonnie Olsen and Katie Patterson.

Works of Grace scholarships given out to children of Blaine County teachers were in the amount of $20,000 to Kendra Olson, and $10,000 apiece to Heidi Pincock and Marin Pincock, children of Carey music teacher Hollis Pincock.

Other class awards

Six National Honor Society inductees were Dillon Simpson, Taylor Whitby, Sydney Brower, Amy Ellsworth, Jessica Parke and Brad Peck.

Principal John Peck congratulated three students who achieved perfect attendance. They were first grader Brian Bargas, fifth grader Daniela Barroso Chavez and Darby Northcott. Eighth-grader Northcott hasn't missed a day of school for six consecutive years.

Announced were the new Student Body officers for the 2008-09 school year.

The incoming president is Ashley Harshbarger, succeeding D.J. Simpson. New vice president is Brad Peck, replacing Harshbarger. New secretary is Amy Ellsworth, replacing Josh Neilson. New treasurer is Candace Hennefer.

The outgoing Student Body officers received plaques.

Jonathan Mares received the Cecil B. Smith Art Award as the outstanding art student for 2007-08. It was given for the 19th time to a Carey student for art excellence. Special awards went to art aides Chelsey Hunt and Shelby Hansen.

Seventh grader McKayla Mecham received a check and will have her artwork displayed in the school.

Science Award winner was Josh Neilson. Neilson was also voted an All-Star Academic Team member. Scholastic Team members from Carey were Neilson, Jordan Surerus, Tyler Parke, Emily Andrews, Sydney Brower, Justin Dilworth, Heith Adamson, Mason Dickerson, Jaret Koudelka and Blake Whitby.

Drama awards were given in the traditional categories:

Best actor and actress—Drama Club president Jordan Surerus and, tying for the actress honor, Jennifer Cenarrusa and Kendra Olson. Best supporting actor and actress—Heith Adamson and Kayla Bailey. Rookie awards—Ashley Harshbarger and Shane Bingham. Best technician—Andrew Carlson.

Next year's Drama Club president is Heith Adamson. Next year's yearbook editor is Emily Andrews, with Kayla Bailey serving as assistant.

The dedication for this year's yearbook was made to Lynda Pyrah, administrative secretary to three principals since 1993. She is retiring to serve a church mission and live on land she and husband Kurt have purchased in Wilder. She received a standing ovation, flowers and handwritten cards from students.

Class officers for 2008-09 are:

Presidents: Kayla Bailey (12th grade), Shuressa Rodriquez (11th), Danie Hennefer (10th), Kelly Patterson (9th), McKayla Mecham (8th) and Lilly Rivera (7th).

Vice presidents: Jared Cenarrusa (12th grade), Jennifer Murphy (11th), Shane Bingham (10th),

Charmaine Kirkland (9th), Morgan Parke (8th) and Quinton Adams (7th).

Secretaries: Shelby Hansen (12th grade), Taylor Whitby (11th), Jacy Baird (10th), Micaela Adamson (9th), Hailey Willis (8th) and Tori Alvarez (7th).

Treasurers: Jasmine Gamino (12th grade), Trevor Peck (11th), Caleb Cenarrusa (10th), Darby Northcott (9th), Angelica Zarate (8th) and Jennifer Mares (7th).

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2024 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.