Friday, May 23, 2008

Shay banquet gives due to Wood Riverís best

Student athletes saluted in Hailey

Wood River High School saluted its "Best of the Best," during the 2008 Bob Shay Most Inspirational awards banquet Monday night in the commons area of the high school.

Top students in extracurricular activities received accolades and plaques. Judged by a vote of coaches as "Outstanding Senior Athletes" were Lauren Morgenthaler and Erik Jacobson.

This was the 11th year Wood River honored the three-activity letter winners who are the backbone of so many of the programs, athletic/activities director John Rade said.

Honored as three-activity varsity lettermen were Tessa Barrow, Michale Brunker, Angela Coleman, Sam Colesworthy, Samantha Engel, Allie Freund, Hannah Gove, Madison Gove, Hanna Gustafson, Tasha Karst, Dani Stone, Ashley Tolman, Greg Wakefield and Lacie Wheeler-Anderson.

The presentation of Allan Lee Patterson Memorial Awards to two outstanding senior students was a highlight of Monday's program.

Selected by the school's coaching staff, Patterson honors were given for the 31st time in memory of Hailey's Allan Patterson, a 1975 Wood River graduate and promising alpine skier who died in 1977.

The Patterson winners were Hannah Gove and Axel Peterson.

U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete awards were presented to Danny Kramer and Hannah Ward.

U.S. Army Reserve Scholar/Athlete honors went to Tessa Barrow and Pat Patterson.

Julia Bowman earned the Rose Bergin Memorial Award. It was given for the 28th time to the Wolverine girl who possesses the qualities of Bergin, a 1977 WRHS grad and runner who died of cancer.

The third annual Monte Brothwell Unsung Hero Award honoring the noted Bellevue runner and 1972 state cross country champion for Wood River who has completed 46 marathons was presented to Pedro Morales.

Given the 2007-08 Wolverine Awards were Brian Town and K.D. Pruett for spirit, Ross Parsons and Lacie Wheeler-Anderson for leadership, and Mark Estrebillo and Tasha Karst for tenacity.

Former Wood River assistant boys' basketball coach Jim Boatwright announced Erik Jacobson and Ross Parsons as recipients of the second Dan Boatwright Scholarship, presented in memory of Jim's 26-year-old son who died in 2006.

Bob Shay "Most Inspirational" awards were presented to athletes in each of the school's varsity sports and to participants in activities like drama, cheerleading and band.

The awards, once called Rick Hawkes Memorial, were given for the 19th time in honor of coach Shay. Shay "Inspirational" awards went to:

Fall sports—K.D. Pruett in volleyball; Julia Bowman and Pedro Morales in cross country; Axel Peterson in boys' soccer; Michelle McMurdo in girls' soccer; and Jared Rade in football.

Winter sports—Greg Wakefield in boys' basketball; Lauren Morgenthaler for a second year in girls' basketball; and Tanner Orchard in wrestling.

Spring sports—Chase Caulkins in boys' track; Ashton Lupton in girls' track; Tessa Barrow and Carlos Neme in tennis; Trent Seamons in baseball; Brian Town and Jamie Colver in golf; and Angela Coleman for a second year in softball.

Other activities—Kassie Ayala in cheerleading; Tawni Padilla and Max Jones in debate; Izzy Taylor and Scott Noel for a second year in drama; Brendon Williams in band; Kevin Chin and Madison Deffe in choir.

Presented for the 19th time was the "Shay Cup," which goes to a Wood River coach/advisor in Bob Shay's name. This year's winner was cross country coach James Foster.

Foster was one of three coaches who are leaving their positions this year and were honored by athletic director Rade Monday night. The others are girls' basketball coach Brent Carnduff and drama instructor Becky Miller.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.