Wednesday, April 2, 2008

Hobson brings out the best on Dollar

146 kids, parents enjoy a Sunday in the chilly sun

Sage Curtis loves her costume for Sunday’s Hobson Memorial.

The focus was having fun and sharing a beautiful, chilly but sunny spring day with friends and family.

There was also some racing to be done and trophies to be presented during Sunday's 31st annual Hobson Memorial Race at a new site, Dollar Mountain.

Dorothy Hobson Krumm sponsors the season-ending alpine racing activity for junior ski team kids each spring to remember her husband Roy L. Hobson and daughter, Sheila Hobson Dolsot. In all, 146 racers turned out in a variety of colorful and creative costumes.

Without further ado, the envelopes please. And the winners of the perpetual trophies for fastest times in each class, and special awards were:

Hobson Trophy, fastest girl: Teagen Palmer 28.17 (also the Bonnie Russell Award for J3 girls). Hobson Trophy, fastest boy: Miles Sweek 27.19 (also the Smith Goggle Award for J3 boys).

Darrock Crookes Award (J1 boys): Jordan Smith 28.59. Pete Lane Award (J2 boys): Chase Caulkins 28.89. Christin Cooper Award (J2 girls): Hannah Curran 30.60.

Billy Kleine Award (J4 boys): KJ Savaria 28.89. Kathleen Harriman Mortimer Award (J4 girls) Marlow Mizer 30.61. Pete Patterson Award (J5 boys): Jay Fitzgerald 32.22. Gretchen Fraser Award (J5 girls): Haley Cutler 32.37.

Best Costumes: 1—Gavin Shipley, "Chicken Boy." 2—Maddie Milgard, "Captain America."

Engl Awards: "C" Home Team winners Julia Vorsteveld and Jay Fitzgerald. "D" Team winners Katelyn Rathfon and Alex Feldman.

Howard Dean Awards: Isabella Bourret and Nick Swift.

"C" Home Team Coaches Awards: MVPs—Samantha Busby and Will Long. Most Improved—Loni Unser and Emmett Say.

"D" Team Coaches Awards: MVPs McKenna Arial, Alyssa Ritzel, Gavin Blair and Noah Leininger.

Top Hobson times by class.


(ages 7-8)

1—Sage Rheinschild 36.45. 2—Katelyn Rathfon 36.78. 3—Molly Milgard 40.51. 4—Emma Coulthard 41.40. 5—Fallon Flaherty 42.03.


1—Caleb Morgan 39.49. 2—Cooper Dart 39.66. 3—Sam Hebert 40.16. 4—Jiraldo Alvaro 40.47. 5—Matteo Jorgenson 41.22.


(ages 9-10)

1—Haley Cutler 32.37 (Gretchen Fraser Award). 2—Josie Allison 32.39. 3—Samantha Busby 33.03. 4—Madison Milgard 34.13. 5—Megan Murphy 34.41.


1—Jay Fitzgerald 32.22 (Pete Patterson Award). 2—Eli Conrad 32.35. 3—Austin Savaria 32.56. 4—Emmett Say 32.63. 5—Jack Rizzo 32.78.


(ages 11-12)

1—Marlow Mizer 30.61 (Kathleen Harriman Mortimer Award). 2—Telar McClure 31.45. 3—Jordan Fitzgerald 31.57. 4—Spencer Thomas 31.86. 5—Katie Feldman and Ellie Punnett 33.28.


1—KJ Savaria 28.89 (Billy Kleine Award). 2—Reed Matthews 30.19. 3—Cole Caulkins 30.67. 4—Tanner Josey 30.79. 5—Andrew Fairley 31.47.


(ages 13-14)

1—Teagen Palmer 28.17 (Bonnie Russell Award and overall female winner). 2—Amanda Stelling 28.40. 3—Nicole Roos 29.32. 4—Marly Morgus 29.48. 5—Cate Fairley 29.90.


1—Miles Sweek 27.19 (Smith Goggle Award and overall male winner). 2—Tanner Farrow 27.20. 3—Harlan Collins 27.98. 4—Connor Farrow 28.41. 5—Tanner Dirstine 28.44.


(ages 15-16)

1—Hannah Curran 30.60 (Christin Cooper Trophy). 2—Karlee Stagg 21.


1—Chase Caulkins 28.89 (Pete Lane Trophy). 2—Nick Bowen 30.38. 3—Logan Kassner 35.50.


(ages 17-19)

1—Jordan Smith 28.59 (Darrock Crookes Trophy).

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2019 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.