Friday, March 21, 2008

Ski Tek boys tuck away the Town Series Cup

Seven-week Cozy racing series winds up

Hoisting their new cooler, the top prize for winning the Town Series Cup, are, from left Sean Murphy and Matt Murphy, as their teammate Chris Key (right) gets a chuckle out of Wednesday?s awards ceremony at Apple?s Bar & Grill. Not shown is Carl Rixon Jr., their teammate on the winning SkiTekasorasses squad.

Consistency was a big plus for the SkiTekasorasses foursome Wednesday at the end of the 2008 Sun Valley Town Series of alpine ski races, co-sponsored by Sun Valley Co. and Watkins Distributing.

SkiTekasorasses, featuring Carl Rixon Jr., Matt Murphy, Sean Murphy and Chris Key, put a bunch of zeroes on the board in Wednesday's two-run race and won the season championship of the Town Series with a total of 3.57 points, lowest of the 32 four-racer squads.

Sun Valley Race Department supervisor Mike Wrobel said SkiTekasorasses was the group that best stayed within the same distance of the middle-of-the-road "rabbit" racer each week in the Cozy races. Consistency was the key, he said.

The winning team received four coolers from Budweiser and will have their names engraved on the Town Cup that someday will take its place in the second-floor trophy case of Sun Valley Lodge, Wrobel said.

Rounding out the top five teams for the season:

2—"Best" Ever with Richard Kraatz, Wally Rothgeb, Bob Gordon and D.J. Hart 4.41 points. 3—Scott USA with John Zuck, J.R. Reagle, Toby Arnett and Jeff Page 6.32 points.

4—The Nads with Ryan Manning, Lenny Joseph, Jon Riley and Troy Thayer 7.89 points. 5—Rainbow Warriors with Dan Kurdy, Tom Shanklin, Alan Durkheimer and John Summers 7.98 points.

The fastest two-run racers in Wednesday's finale for 94 starters and 89 finishers were Carl Rixon Jr. 48.64 seconds, combined time, and Erika Hogan, 51.10 seconds, seventh overall.

The top 25, two-run times:

1—Carl Rixon Jr. 48.64. 2—Nate Schwing 48.73. 3—John Campbell 49.85. 4—Biche Rudigoz 49.87. 5—Wes Powell 50.13. 6—Matt Murphy 50.17. 7—Erika Hogan 51.10. 8—Cam Fraser 52.57. 9—Sean Murphy 52.64. 10—Daniella Anguita 52.78.

11—Mike Gowe 53.47. 12—Christine Cordeau 53.78. 13—Sarah Mazzola 54.21. 14—Caleb Baukol 54.45. 15—Ashley Brown 54.52. 16—Alan Rickers 54.55. 17—Erika Whittaker 54.67. 18—Dan Kurdy 54.76. 19—Brent Ellis 54.81. 20—Kelly Dowding 55.45. 21—Will Hovey 55.81. 22—Tom Shanklin 55.91. 23—Tyler Corrock 56.03. 24—Ben Reilly 56.12. 25—Mark Masur 56.33.

Town Series racing took place each Wednesday from Jan. 23 through March 19, except for Feb. 20 and March 12.

The names of 20 racers from the top five teams in the season series were entered into a drawing for the grand prize of four Sun Valley 2008-09 season ski passes. The winners were John Reagle, Carl Rixon Jr., Sean Murphy and Dan Kurdy.

In addition, there was a "Dream Team" comprised of the four most consistent racers, those with the lowest variance. Take note, team organizers—you want these racers on your team next year.

The "Dream Team" included, from one to four, Will Hovey 5.76% to total variance, Chris Key 7.48% total variance, Lenny Joseph 7.71% total variance and Matt Murphy 8.31% total variance.

The annual series of dual modified giant slalom races started in 1992 on Baldy and has been extremely popular with hundreds of local skiers.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.