Friday, March 7, 2008

Cozy is the place for midweek ski races

Ski Club GS, Town Series

Baldy's Cozy ski run was a busy place for giant slalom gates Tuesday and Wednesday during back-to-back races—the Sun Valley Ski Club's giant slalom championships and the weekly Town Series event.

Town Series

The SkiTekasorasses (Chris Key, Matt Murphy, Sean Murphy and Carl Rixon Jr.) came back to the pack Wednesday with a 2.85-point day that tightened up the team race of the Sun Valley Town Series, co-sponsored by Sun Valley Co. and Watkins Distributing.

It was a good day of dual modified GS racing for The Nads (Ryan Manning, Lenny Joseph, Troy Thayer and Jon Riley), who jumped into third place in the 31-team standings.

Here are the top five teams after week six of the Town Series, a Baldy fixture since 1992:

1—SkiTekasorasses 3.57. 2—"Best" EVER (Bob Gordon, Richard Kraatz, Wally Rothgeb, D.J. Hart) 4.41. 3—The Nads 4.89. 4—Hakunamatata (Dennis Maxwell, Rod Jones, Erika Whittaker, Heidi Watanabe) 5.68. 5—Scott USA (Jeff Page, J.R. Reagle, John Zuck and Toby Arnett) 5.82.

Alan Durkheimer of Rainbow Warriors clocked the rabbit time of 33.83 seconds.

Fastest racers were Carl Rixon Jr. 25.99 seconds, John Campbell 26.70, Matt Murphy 26.80, Wes Powell 27.21, Erika Hogan 27.48, Cam Fraser 28.32, Chase Gouley 28.36, Mike Gowe 28.54, John Summers 28.58 and Sean Murphy 28.59.

The series takes a one-week break and returns with a roar for its final event and awards day Wednesday, March 19.

The names of 20 racers from the top five teams in the season series will be entered into a drawing for the grand prize of four Sun Valley 2008-09 season ski passes. That drawing takes place March 19 at Apple's Bar & Grill, Warm Springs, Ketchum.

Ski Club finals

Thirty-one racers took part in the Sun Valley Ski Club's two-run GS championships Tuesday with Lily Fink-Debray (1:21.55 seconds) and her big brother, Miles Fink-Debray (1.10:86), posting the top times.

Cliff Cunha edged out Tom Shanklin to earn the "Don Johnson Trophy" for the fastest Sun Valley ski instructor.

Other class winners were John Droege, Al Auseklis, Carl Fullman, Keith Thompson, Bob Sarchett, Cunha, John Summers, John Campbell, Ginny Reed, Anna Droege, Meri Stratton and Nancy Dreyer.

Top five men were Miles Fink-Debray 1:10.86, John Campbell 1:15.54, John Summers 1:19.70, Cliff Cunha 1:20.21 and Bob Sarchett 1:22.54. Top five women were Lily Fink-Debray 1:21.55, Nancy Dreyer 1:32.36, Anna Droege 1:36.65, Trudi Schneider 1:39.96 and Annelie Williams 1:49.72.

Others racing Tuesday were Jim Tallackson, Drury Cooper, Herb Nolan, Ben Harwell, Dan DeWerd, Steve Slivinski, Ned Lumpkin, Manfred Schindler, Herb Meyr, Royal McClure, John Reagle, Curt Williams, Mark Masur and Greg Moore.

Organizer Ken Dreyer said the club would like to thank Sun Valley Co. and its race department for a successful ski club race season.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2024 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.