Friday, February 1, 2008

Moguls, pipe bring 125 to Roundhouse Slope

Great weekend for SV racers

Here?s a look at Austin Bourret's event-winning run during the Sun Valley Freestyle halfpipe event last Friday on Baldy as part of the three-day Intermountain Division competition. Photo by

Sun Valley Freestyle Team racers enjoyed an awesome Intermountain Division home event last weekend on Baldy's Roundhouse Slope.

Nearly 50 local ski teamers or racers with roots in the Wood River Valley joined the field of 125 racers, which included 83 men and 42 women for the moguls competition.

Former Sun Valley racer Nic Hanscom won the men's moguls and Kurtis Fieguth was fourth. Hailey's Broc Sheue captured first in dual moguls.

In a great result, J2 Austin Bourret was the overall men's winner of the halfpipe and J3 Hannah Haupt was fourth among the women.

Besides Bourret, the class halfpipe winners included Alysha Herich, Isabella Bourret, Trace Page, Connor Braatz, Adam Vorsteveld, Benjamin Parker, Luke Robertson and Jamie Rollerson.

In the dual moguls competition there were 49 men and 34 women going through elimination rounds.

Top four men were first-place Broc Sheue of Hailey, Ryan Koemans, Bartley Damon and Cody Tempel. Top woman was Annie Serra followed by Mary Ellen Forman, Ani Haas and Aunika Phillips.

Sheue in winning the championship defeated Bradley Wilson, Charles Gandolfo, Henry Worobec, Nic Hanscom, Bartley Damon and Ryan Koemans. Women's winner Serra defeated Nikki Martin, Alysha Herich, Jennifer Mustard, Ani Haas and Mary Ellen Forman.

Kurtis Fieguth won three rounds before being defeated by second-place Ryan Koemans, and Hanscom captured three rounds. Winning one round were Sun Valley's Connor Braatz, Trace Page, Trevor Brand, Nathan Moses, Trevor Norris, Anita Vorsteveld and Alysha Herich.

Results by class and by race for Sun Valley contestants:

Mogul results and halfpipe

Overall placings for men's moguls: 1—Nic Hanscom 25.79 (1-Senior Men). 4—Kurtis Fieguth 25.20 (2-SM). 14—Broc Sheue 23.04 (8-SM)


J1 men: Trace Page (7-M/2-HP/1-HP); and Cameron Rendahl (10-M).

J1 women: Katie Fieguth (4-M); Lauren Phillips (9-M); Chloe Gordon (10-M/2-HP/2-HP).

J2 men: Austin Moses (3-M/4-HP/6-HP); William Eagan (7-M); Parker Page (8-M); North Parker (9-M); Austin Bourret (11-M/1-HP/4-HP).

J2 women: Kali Phillips (1-M); Anita Vorsteveld (3-M/3-HP/3-HP).

J3 men: Nathan Moses (3-M/9-HP/5-HP); Trevor Brand (5-M/5-HP/7-HP); Joey Richardson (7-M/12-HP/9-HP); Connor Braatz (9-M/2-HP/1-HP); Adam Vorsteveld (15-M/1-HP/6-HP).

J3 women: Aunika Phillips (1-M); Hannah Haupt (2-M/2-HP/2-HP); Zana Davey (7-M/3-HP/3-HP).

J4 men: Benjamin Parker (7-M/4-HP/1-HP); Wyatt Wilson (8-M); Colton Braatz (9-M/3-HP/2-HP); Trevor Norris (10-M); Jake Flaherty (11-M); Alec Poster (17-M).

J4 women: Bailey Cleven (5-M); Addison Holmes (8-M); Samantha Sutton (9-M); Isabelle Caraluzzi (10-M); Alysha Herich (11-M/1-HP/2-HP).

J5 men: Luke Robertson (1-M/2-HP/1-HP); Dominic Calhoon (2-M); Chris Lentz (3-M); Joey Reidy (5-M); Illiah Pfau (6-M); Drake Vernoy (8-M); Zach Maricich Siele (11-M/3-HP/2-HP); River Vorse (12-M).

J5 women: Claire Siderman (1-M); Madeline Nelson (2-M); Tatum Morell (3-M); Kenya Schott (4-M); Renee Shapiro (5-M).

J6 men: Jamie Rollerson (2-HP/1-HP).

J6 women: Isabella Bourret (1-HP/1-HP).

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2023 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.