Wednesday, October 26, 2005

Brooks named to Olympic shrine

Olympic hockey coach

The late Herb Brooks of Minnesota, coach and architect of the gold medal-winning 1980 U.S. Olympic men's ice hockey team, is among the latest selections to the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame. The "Class of 2006" was announced Wednesday, Oct. 12 and will be inducted Dec. 8, 2005 in Chicago, Ill.

"Miracle on Ice" coach Brooks was chosen from five coaching finalists. Not selected were track and field's Bill Bowerman and Ed Temple, figure skating's Carlo Fassi and swimming's George Haines.

Chosen as this year's team inductee was the 1984 Olympic men's gymnastics squad (Bart Conner, Tim Daggett, Mitch Gaylord, Jim Hartung, Scott Johnson, Peter Vidmar) that collected seven individual medals and team gold. Not chosen were the other nominees—the 1968 men's 4x400-meter track relay, the 1976 women's swimming 4x100m freestyle relay, the 1988 men's volleyball team and the 1988 women's 4x100m track relay.

This year's individual athletes to be enshrined are five-time U.S. Olympic track star Evelyn Ashford, swimmer Rowdy Gaines, sprinter Bob Hayes, gymnast Shannon Miller, figure skater Kristi Yamaguchi, disabled skier Diana Golden-Brosnihan and speedskater Jack Shea. This year's special contributor is Dick Ebersol of NBC Sports.

Individuals not chosen this year were figure skater Brian Boitano, kayaker Greg Barton, wrestler Bruce Baumgartner, runner Joan Benoit, wrestler Jeff Blatnick, track stars Valerie Brisco and Roger Kingdom, swimmer Mary Meagher, archer Darrell Pace and wrestler John Smith.

The voting process for this year's Hall of Fame included Olympics, Paralympians, Olympic family leaders, media and fans. The public voting took place Aug. 17-Sept. 21.

To date, 182 athletes (including six U.S. teams) and special contributors to the U.S. Olympic movement have been enshrined. Established in 1979, the Hall of Fame includes 1968 Olympic men's high jumping gold medalist Dick Fosbury of Ketchum, but does not include 34-year-old Picabo Street.

Triumph native Street, the 1995-96 World Cup overall women's champion, won the 1998 Olympic super giant slalom gold medal in stirring comeback from a serious leg injury. The outspoken woman who grew up skiing in Sun Valley also won the 1994 Olympic downhill silver medal. In 2002 she attempted to become the first U.S. skier to ever medal in three straight Winter Olympics, but placed 16th in the women's DH at Salt Lake City.

For a complete list of Hall of Fame inductees, visit

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.