Wednesday, June 8, 2005

Middle School singles out top students

For Citizenship awards and more

Outstanding Wood River Middle School students and citizens were honored for their 2004-05 school year academics and activities during awards assemblies last week.

The student body at the Hailey school voted on Citizenship Awards.

Citizenship winners in the Red and Green (eighth grade), Blue and Purple (seventh grade), and Gold and Silver (sixth grade) teams were determined on service, courtesy, scholarship, character, personality and attitude.

Eighth-grade winners were Bronwen Raff, Clayton Jenson, Scott Phelan and Racheal McGinnis.

Seventh-grade citizenship award recipients were Kelly Chapman, Morgan Pike, Meagan Carey and Crockett Stearns.

Sixth-grade citizenship winners for 2004-05 were Zoey Olbum, Harlan Collins, James Paris and Jessica Hamilton.

The Principal's Awards went to Bronwen Raff and Rune Haavik.

The President's Awards for Educational Excellence were given to 48 eighth graders who were on the honor roll and scored 85% or better on the ISAT test during the fall and spring periods. They were:

Devan Annan, Rosalie Bauer, Conor Benson, Julia Bowman, Bryan Bray, Jasmine Campbell, Makayla Cappel, Faith Coben, Madeleine Cordovano, Hannah Curran, Madison Deffe, Laura Elgee, Samantha Engel, Christopher Falcone, Nicole Fisher, Madeline Flade, Alison Freund, Alexandra Funk, Tanya Greenwood, Shelby Grubbs, Hanna Gustafson, Courtney Hamilton, Megan Hayes and Alexander Henning;

Also, Bailey Ireland, Nick Kavanagh, Clarissa King, Alexandria Korobkin, Carter Laird, Emily Larson, Lyndsey Lascheck, Gregory LeBlanc, Kenna Libke, Meghan Luck, Racheal McGinnis, Molly Mittmann, Layna Nelson, Cole Newcomb, Hannah Odio, Madora Ooms, Katherine Pettengill, Lauren Prentice, Bronwen Raff, Rex Nilsen, Gregory Roos, Daniel Syms, Amy Tamayo and Hayden Waller.

Another prestigious award was that given for perfect attendance, and 24 students achieved that distinction:

Eighth grade: Cesar Carrillo, Oscar Fajardo, Stephanie Guzman, Junior Hidalgo, Emilie Larson, Misha McGonigal, Dale McLaughlin, Javier Rojas and Nick Sloan.

Seventh grade: Maxwell Bates, Barry Crow, Brita Gaeddert, Jacob Goldman, Jacqueline Guzman and Rusty Williams.

Sixth grade: Dalia Carrillo, Louvier Gomez, Cristian Gonzalez, Alisha Graefe, Rebecca Hogan, Edith Orihuela, Emanuel Ortega, Cristian Sandoval and Hannah Watters.

There were 10 eighth-grade students who received 4.00 on all trimesters for all three WRMS years.

They were Devan Annan, Julia Bowman, Samantha Engel, Alison Freund, Tanya Greenwood, Courtney Hamilton, Carter Laird, Racheal McGinnis, Lauren Prentice and Bronwen Raff.

Also, there were 65 students who made the three-year honor roll:

Kylie Anderson, Piper Andrews, Kaylee Baker, Rosalie Bauer, Mark Beck, Conor Benson, Sloan Brandon, Bryan Bray, Veronica Bruess, Jasmine Campbell, Makayla Cappel, Madeleine Cordovano, Hanna Curran, Madison Deffe, Chase Dougherty, Laura Elgee, John Engelhardt, Aimee Evans, Oscar Fajardo, Christopher Falcone, Nicole Fisher, Madeline Flade, Spencer Fullmer and Alexandra Funk;

Matthew Gappmeyer, Shelby Grubbs, Hanna Gustafson, Stephanie Guzman, Rune Haavik, Megan Hayes, Alexander Henning, Bailey Ireland, Clayton Jenson, Travis Job, Haley Johnson, Nick Kavanagh, Clarissa King, Alexandria Korobkin, Emily Larson, Lyndsey Lascheck, Gregory LeBlanc, Meghan Luck, Ali Maricich, Molly Mittmann, Layna Nelson, Cole Newcomb, Rex Nilsen and Hannah Odio;

Madora Ooms, Gabriela Oropeza, Robert Paris, Rika Pere, Katherine Pettengill, Scott Phelan, Kahli Phillips, Carolyn Poole, Gregory Roos, Nick Smith, Kahli Steenstra-Toussaint, Clarice Stevens, Daniel Syms, Amy Tamayo, Bryan Tidwell, Nicholas Turco and Hayden Waller.

"Students of the Month" were:

September: Max Monahan, Tony Carvajal, Oscar Fajardo, Michael Coiner, Stephanie Sloan, Matthew Davis and Cassi Regalado.

October: Esteban Palencia, Morgan Pike, Kyler VanDyke, Gabriela Oropeza, Ellen Davis, Karen Flores and Alex Lindbloom.

November: Ashley Sher, Tanya Greenwood, Claudia Gil, R.J. Forgeon, Kelsey Brennan, John Siegel and Hannah Stephenson.

December: Ali Freund, Jessica Hamilton, Megan Reidy, Haley Libert, Gabriela Juarez, Taylor Hayes and Julia Bowman.

January: Hunter VanBramer, Scott Phelan, Ian Murphy, Juana Hurtado, Rusty Williams, Courtney Hamilton and Barry Crow.

February: Samantha Engel, Alex Henning, Louvier Gomez, Alicia Graeffe, Meagan Carey, Max Durtschi and Noe Garcia.

March: Cesar Carrillo, Alex Jones, Claire Bowman, Audry Kirk, Morgan Nelson, Ben Herren and Javier Rojas.

April: Ashley Aschliman, Miguel Vazquez, Tori Pfaeffle, Kali Phillips, Ben Broderick, Madora Ooms and Alison Levy.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.