Wednesday, May 25, 2005

"Inspire" is big word at Shay banquet

Student athletes honored at WRHS

"Inspirational" was the word of the night in Hailey Monday.

Wood River High School saluted its "Best of the Best," during the 2005 Bob Shay Most Inspirational awards banquet in the commons area of the high school.

Top Wood River High students in extracurricular activities received accolades. Coaches and teachers praised Wood River athletes, leaders and "Most Inspirational" honorees.

Judged by a vote of coaches as "Most Outstanding Senior Athletes," for 2004-05 were Rachael Richards and Tyson Reynoso.

Richards excelled in volleyball and track while Wood River valedictorian Reynoso was a star in football and baseball for Hailey.

This was the eighth year that Wood River honored its three-activity lettermen. Athletic director Ron Martinez announced a total of 12 three-activity student winners.

Syringa Stark was a three-activity honoree for the third straight year. Max Kessler was honored for the second year. Other lettermen in three activities were Ted Dankanyin, Craig Werley, Abel Grimaldo, Alexa Alberdi, Corbin Miniard, Jamie Stone, Dan Parnes, Joe Zeman, Hillary Elmore and Reno Christino..

Other awards

The presentation of Allan Lee Patterson Memorial Awards to two outstanding senior students was another highlight of the program.

Selected by the Wood River coaching staff, the Patterson honors were given for the 28th time in memory of Hailey's Allan Patterson.

Nicknamed "Tork" for his all-out attitude, 1975 Wood River graduate Patterson was an outstanding football player and top-level alpine skier for Sun Valley. He met an untimely death in 1977 at age 20.

This year's Patterson winners were Brady Femling and Gina Thomas.

U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete awards were presented Craig Werley and Laura Johnson. Army Reserve Scholar/Athlete honors for the 2004-05 school year went to Ted Dankanyin and Syringa Stark.

Tess Dahlgren, a cross country runner, earned the Rose Bergin Memorial Award. It was given for the 25th time to the Wolverine girl who possesses the student-athlete-citizen qualities of Bergin, a 1977 WRHS graduate who died of cancer.

A new award, the Wolverine Award, went to six graduating seniors—Billy Kramer, Jessica Rice, Genii Vert, Lisa Feldhusen, Max Kessler and Abel Grimaldo.

Bob Shay "Most Inspirational" awards were presented to athletes in each of the school's varsity sports and to participants in activities like drama, cheerleading and band.

The awards, once called Rick Hawkes Memorial, were given for the 16th time in honor of coach Shay. Shay "Inspirational" awards went to:

· Fall sports—Alexa Alberdi in volleyball; Tess Dahlgren and Dawson Paschall in cross country; Ted Dankanyin in boys' soccer; Ashley Mardian for a second straight year in girls' soccer; and Max Kessler for a second year in football.

· Winter sports—Brady Femling in boys' basketball; Laura Johnson in girls' basketball; and Greg Lyons in wrestling.

· Spring sports—Corbin Miniard in boys' track; Rachael Richards for a second straight year and Noilyn Corrales in girls' track; Hadley DeBree for a second straight year and Seth Curran in tennis; Steve Hansen in baseball; Adriana Maniere for a second year and Kyle Cole in golf; and Ali Sherbine in softball.

· Other activities—Cassie West for a second straight year and Philip Bradshaw in cheerleading; Hillary Elmore in speech; and Mark Pedersen in debate;

Jessica Rice for a second straight year and Joseph Zeman in drama; Matt Sloan for the third consecutive year and Marne Elmore in band; Kelsie Barrow and Dakotah Cole in choir; and Katie Jensen and Alan Beserra in orchestra.

Third Shay Cup for Neville

Presented for the 17th time was the "Shay Cup," which goes to a Wood River coach/advisor in Shay's name. And, for the third time, the "Coach of the Year" recipient was award-winning speech arts teacher Tim Neville, who is retiring. Neville could not attend because of the recent death of his brother.

Past "Shay Cup" winners:

Cross country/track coach James Foster; football coach John Blackman; baseball coach Lars Hovey; softball coach Chris Cey; tennis coach Nancy Williams; boys' soccer coach Brian Daluiso (twice); band and choir teacher Bart Bailey; volleyball coach Dave Neumann; wrestling coach Tom Goicoechea; boys' basketball coach Norm Cook; girls' basketball/track coach J.C. Nemecek; girls' soccer coach Tizz Strachan; cross country/track coach Bill Martell; and boys' soccer coach Erik Larson.

Current coaches attending Monday's awards banquet catered by Jana Orchard were Darcee Barber, Jeannie Bradshaw, Farrell Swain, Greg Gvozdas, Tim Richards, Becky Miller, James Foster, J.C. Nemecek, Brent Carnduff, John Radford, Jim Boatwright, Max Stimac, Kim Orchard, Larry Lloyd, Steve Anderson, Dale Martin and Lars Hovey.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2018 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.