Wednesday, November 24, 2004

Sawtooth Conference picks its All-Stars

Camas dominates grid squads

The Camas County Mushers (8-3) took their 2004 eight-man football quest all the way to the 1A Division 2 semi-finals—and the Mushers were rewarded Monday with nine of 18 first-team picks on the All-Sawtooth Conference East squad.

Sawtooth Conference grid coaches selected teams Monday, and gave the "Coach of the Year," nods to Garr Ward of Richfield (5-4) in the West and Jack McKelvey of state runner-up Mackay (10-1) in the East.

Camas County seniors Dakota Dalin (running back, safety) and Mark Wilson (center, defensive guard) along with sophomore Chase Lee (offensive and defensive end) all picked up a pair of All-League first-team selections in the five-school Sawtooth West.

They were joined on the first team by Musher teammates Kyle Menck (offensive guard), Mike Blodgett (kicker) and Tony Gonsales (linebacker).

Richfield, with six first-team picks, was led by its senior star Victor Vasquez chosen on offense (quarterback) and defense (linebacker). Murtaugh landed two first-team selections and Dietrich one. Carey, with a very young team, settled for five second-team picks in 2004.

Here are the Sawtooth Conference West picks:

First team defense: Linebacker—Tony Gonsales (Camas) and Victor Vasquez (Richfield). Safety—Dakota Dalin (Camas) and Trent Cummins (Murtaugh). End—Chase Lee (Camas) and Steven Ward (Richfield). Guard—Mark Wilson (Camas) and Vincent Edlund (Richfield). Kicker—Mike Blodgett (Camas).

First team offense: Quarterback—Victor Vasquez (Richfield). Running back—Dakota Dalin (Camas) and Trent Cummins (Murtaugh). End—Chase Lee (Camas) and Steven Ward (Richfield). Center—Mark Wilson (Camas). Guard—Kyle Menck (Camas) and Vincent Edlund (Richfield). Punter—Bryant Pitman (Dietrich).

Second team defense: Linebacker—Cody Baird (Carey) and Bridger Ward (Murtaugh). Safety—Tyler Cook (Carey) and Mike Blodgett (Camas). End—Travis Van Gelder (Camas) and Eli Anderson (Murtaugh). Guard—Kyle Menck (Camas) and Luke Harmon (Carey). Kicker—Hector Romero (Richfield).

Second team offense: Quarterback—Mike Blodgett (Camas). Running back—Tony Gonsales (Camas) and Wes Naylor (Richfield). End—Brad Hunt (Carey) and Chepe Saucedo (Murtaugh). Center—Luke Harmon (Carey). Guard—Devin Simpson (Carey) and Hank Bingham (Dietrich). Punter—Mike Blodgett (Camas).

Honorable mention defense: Kicker—Jesus Ocampo (Carey) and Fabriciano Venegas (Dietrich).

Honorable mention offense: Quarterback—Tyler Cook (Carey) and Bridger Ward (Murtaugh). End—Colbin Naylor (Richfield) and Travis Van Gelder (Camas). Center—Bryant Bishoff (Murtaugh). Guard—Scott Simpson (Richfield). Punter—Bridger Ward (Murtaugh).

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.