Wednesday, November 17, 2004

Reynoso named top defensive player

In Great Basin West football

Wood River High School senior Tyson Reynoso has collected one of the top prep football post-season honors in the Great Basin Conference West. Reynoso was honored as "Defensive Player of the Year."

The four-team conference selected its top players during a Nov. 8 meeting. Here is the entire list:

Defensive Player of the Year—Tyson Reynoso (WR).

Offensive Player of the Year—Jacob Martin (Burley).

Coach of the Year—Scott Palin (Burley).


Quarterback: First team—Logan Parrish (Burley). Second team—Brett Boesiger (Jerome).

Running back: First team—Dale Sayles (Minico) and Jacob Martin (Burley). Second team: Huston Brashears (WR) and Ryan Musgrave (Jerome).

Wide receiver: First team—Kyle Benham (Burley) and Kody Bingham (Minico). Second team—Steve Elsenholn and Anthony Curiel (Burley).

Tight end: First team—Britt Thiessen (Jerome) and Taylor Kerbs (Burley). Second team—Carl Browning (WR) and Matt Schenk (Minico).

Offensive line: First team—Brad Clark and Calvin Pruett (Minico), Max Kessler (WR), Tanner Patterson (Jerome) and Chuck Hoenes (Burley). Second team—Jordan Jackson (Jerome); Shawn McManus (Minico); Jesse Jones, James VanBuskirk and Eric Floyd (Burley).


Defensive line: First team—Dustin Selner (WR); Tanner Patterson and Britt Thiessen (Jerome); Scott Ringle and Nick Bame (Burley). Second team—Kyle Bowers (Burley); Kurtiss Bessire and Wes Cooper (Minico).

Outside linebackers: First team—Taylor Kerbs (Burley) and Matt Schenk (Minico). Second team—Tom Callen (Jerome) and Jacob Martin (Burley).

Inside linebackers: First team—Tyson Reynoso (WR) and Ryan Musgrave (Jerome). Second team—Chris Santiago (WR) and Jarred Tracy (Minico).

Defensive backs: First team—Gerriuh Nay and Layne Tominaga (Minico); Kyle Benham and Steve Elsensohn (Burley). Second team—Craig Werley (WR); Mike Konrad (Minico); Em Powell and Brady Black (Jerome).

Special teams

Punter: First team—Brett Boesiger (Jerome). Second team—Tyler Jackson (WR).

Placekicker: First team—Dema Springs (WR). Second team—Dallas Garner (Minico).

Return specialist: First team: McCoy Worthington (Minico). Second team: Gavin Wrigley (Burley).

Honorable mention

Wood River—Matt Jost, Billy Kramer, Abel Grimaldo, Andrew Grimaldo, Adrian Grimaldo, Corbin Miniard and Scott Bartlett.

Minico—Dane Broadhead, Rollie Jones and Greg Christensen.

Jerome—Josh Charles, Tyler Larsen, Peter Marlatt and Pat Fleming.

Burley—Kelly Hodge, Joel Haran, Ryan Hondo and Nathan Mitton.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.