front page
 last week
 express jobs
 about us
 advertising info

 sun valley guide
 real estate guide
 sv catalogs

 email us:
 arts and events


Produced & Maintained by Idaho Mountain Express, Box 1013, Ketchum, ID 83340-1013 
208.726.8065 Voice
208.726.2329 Fax

Copyright © 2001 Express Publishing Inc. 
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 


Formula Sports


Idaho Conservation League



Gary Carr...The Carr Man!

Edmark GM Superstore : Nampa, Idaho

For the week of June 6 - June 12, 2001


Scholarships go to 
Wood River students

Grants revealed at May 30 ceremony

Deserving students who are active in academics, community affairs and leadership were honored May 30 in Hailey during Wood River High School's Scholarship Awards Ceremony for the 2000-01 year.

A variety of local organizations and individuals gave generously to help the graduating Wood River seniors pursue further education and chase their pursuits.

Here are the winners from the 90-minute assembly:

There were over 100 applicants for the First Bank of Idaho/America’s Promise grants. Winners of $4,000 scholarships were Rose Smith and Lucas Cordingley, the class valedictorians. Presenting the first-time grants were Jeanne Sorenson and Jeff Bates.

Olympic gold medalist Picabo Street's scholarships go to student/athletes with a vision and a goal. Street made a personal appearance this year and entertained the audience in her own inimitable style.

Earning $1,000 Picabo Street scholarships were senior athletes Ashley Brown (girls' soccer, alpine skiing) and Cory Goicoechea (football, wrestling and baseball).

Generous community organizations, individuals and businesses issued thousands of dollars of scholarships to Wood River students in the jampacked high school auditorium.

Leading the way was the Hailey Rotary, which has awarded scholarships at the high school since 1967.

In recent years the Rotary has restructured its program to incorporate the long-standing Dick Jones Scholarship with new scholarship funds established in honor of Hailey boosters Roberta McKercher and Lawrence and Julia Heagle.

The Hailey Rotary represented by Lance Elroy gave $3,875 in grants to five students.

The Richard L. "Dick" Jones Scholarship was awarded for the 17th time in memory of the teacher-administrator who served the Blaine County School District from 1960 until his death in August 1984. The Dick Jones $550 scholarship winner was Taylor Berry.

Accepting $1,000 Roberta McKercher Memorial Scholarships from the Hailey Rotary were Darcy Robens and Erin Williams. The $800 Lawrence Heagle honoree was Cory Goicoechea. The $525 Joe Fuld recipient was Josie Bradford.

The Ketchum/Sun Valley Rotary Club represented by Scott Mason distributed $1,000 grants to Mitzi Flade, Cory Goicoechea, Robert Fundy, Max Paisley, Andrew Slough and Rose Smith.

The Idaho Mountain Express Scholarship for $1,200 was given to Scott Neiwert. This is the 14th year the Express has given scholarships to Blaine County students. In all, 48 students have received grants for $49,500 since the Express program began in 1988.

Cindy Ward announced the recipients of $1,000 Sawtooth Board of Realtors grants. They were Amber Kunkel, Jeramy Smith, Mitzi Flade and Scott Neiwert.

Calvin Chaney won the $300 Paul's Market Scholarship given to a business student. The $500 Cornerstone Realty "Lifelong Learner" award was given to Cortney Herald.

Winners of the Building Contractors of the Wood River Valley scholarships were Chris Tatsuno ($1,000), Charlotte Hemmings ($750), Lucas Cordingley ($500), Emily Klick ($500) and Rose Smith ($500). The presenter was Cindy Kesting.

Amber Kunkel and Jeramy Smith earned the Blaine County Education Association (BCEA) scholarships, given by the local teachers' organization.

The $1,000 Josh Pollock Memorial Scholarship from Power Engineers went to Lucas Cordingley. Announcing the sixth annual award was Sheila Pollock, mother of the 1991 Wood River High graduate and University of Michigan student who died at the age of 22.

On behalf of Barbara and Jim Cimino, the Wood River Student of Hispanic Origin scholarship went to Gina Arzate. Presenter Pat Weaver also awarded the James Cimino scholarships to Amber Kunkel and Jeramy Smith.

John Shay awarded the second Bob Shay Memorial Scholarship, given in memory of the influential Wood River High teacher who died in April 2000. Chosen to receive the $1,000 Shay grant was Josie Bradford.

Kathy Wygle and Steve Pruitt gave the second Boo Bushell Memorial Scholarship to Eric Hamlin, a $500 grant.

The first Ruscitto/Latham/Blanton $1,000 scholarship was presented by Nick Latham and Thadd Blanton to Gunnar Gladics. Layne Stoops accepted the $1,000 F-Stop music scholarship.

Scott Neiwert received the $1,000 Hailey Masonic Scholarship, presented by Ted Angle. Mary Ann Knight announced the winner of the $1,000 Upper Big Wood River Grange scholarship as Heather Tabler.

Taylor Berry won the Wood River Medical Society scholarship. American Field Service grants for $500 went to Maureen Murphy and Sarah Browning.

Ann Christensen gave the Smith College Book Award for an outstanding junior to Ashlea Bartlett. The Colby College Book Award was given to Kristen Nelson.

Gay Weake announced the winners of study grants from the Sun Valley Center for the Arts and Humanities.

Recipients were Jens Kuross, to assist in the purchase of portable drums; Natalie Green, private trumpet lessons; Alison Bray, dance workshops; Lindsay Niedrich, piano lessons; Chris Stice and Christina Arpp, dance lessons; and Gariety Pruitt, to help buy a french horn.

Winners of Blue Heron Workshop and Framing Studio grants were revealed. Outstanding senior for a $300 scholarship was Charlotte Hemmings. Outstanding junior was Cole Everman, framing.

Institutional scholarship winners included Brianna Salmon, Wilber Perez, Max Paisley, Scott Neiwert, Tyler Metzel, Levi McGonigal, Chris Martin, Emily Leatham, Emily Klick, Amber Kirtley, Danielle Showalter-Adams, Rose Smith, Beth Stuart, Heather Tabler, Jake Upham, Sky Wolfe, Matt Woodard and Ashley Wells;

Also, Taylor Berry, Zac Broadie, James Brothwell, Calvin Chaney, Lucas Cordingley, Jenna Elmore, Robert Fundy, Gunnar Gladics, Steve Harris, Jeremy Hayward, Holly Hobson and Megan Hofman.

A highlight was the presentation of "Dollars for Scholars" scholarships to 14 Wood River students. In all, $14,000 in grants went to Wood River.

$1,000—Lucas Cordingley, Mitzi Flade, Cory Goicoechea, Eric Hamlin, Emily Klick, Jens Kuross, Scott Neiwert, Max Paisley, Andrew Slough, Rose Smith and Sky Wolfe.

$600—Charlotte Duval, Robert Fundy and Jeremy Hayward.


The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.