Back to Home Page

Local Links
Sun Valley Guide
Hemingway in Sun Valley
Real Estate

For the week of May 24 through May 30, 2000

Michael, Wright win primary election for county commission seats

Candidate Sarah Michael and incumbent Dennis Wright, both Democrats, last night won their party’s nomination to appear on November’s general election ballot for county commissioner.

In Blaine County, incumbent Supreme Court Justice Cathy Silak received 1,399 votes, while challenger Daniel Eismann, the Fourth District Judge, received 559 votes.

At press time, final state results were not available for the hotly contested Idaho Supreme Court seat.

For the Democratic nomination for north county commissioner, an open seat, Sally Donart received 693 votes, or 45.5 percent, compared to Michael, who received 830 votes, or 54.5 percent.

For the Democratic nomination for south county commissioner, Rob Peck received 629 votes, or 45.12 percent, compared to Wright, who received 765 votes, or 54.88 percent.

Voter turnout, at 21.98 percent, was low compared to the 1996 presidential primary, which had a turnout of 44.34 percent, an election official said.


Back to Front Page
Copyright 2000 Express Publishing Inc. All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited.